Another Earth : Review by Renee S.

Standard

 

I review movies I watch it’s what I do, or at least it’s what I like to do when I have time. I recently got to watch a film I have been dying to see it’s called Another Earth. I think I was even more interested in this film because I read about the lead (who also happens to be one of the writers of the movie), Brit Marling, who graduated from Georgetown with a degree in Economics(which I’m studying also!) and was offered a position with big time investment bank Goldman Sachs, and rejected the position to become an artist (cool right?!) . I digress sorry, this is my “review” …

Another Earth : Review by Renee S. 

IMDb Quick Summary : On the night of the discovery of a duplicate planet in the solar system, an ambitious young student and an accomplished composer cross paths in a tragic accident.

Another Earth is mesmerizing, and though it is a sci-fi film it is also a powerful psychological drama  and a dark one at that. Rhoda is a 17 year old, recently accepted to MIT when the film begins.She is driving home from a party when she begins looking up at the newly discovered planet in the sky, and she strikes another vehicle killing a man’s pregnant wife and five year old son. The husband, William Mapother, went into a short coma which is why I suspect he has no idea what she looks like. When she leaves prison she does not attend MIT but decides to become a janitor instead, as she does not want to do anything that will allow her to think too much, nor does she want to interact with anyone. She feels guilty and she decides one day to apologize to William  but instead she loses her nerve and begins cleaning his house hoping that she can somehow help to make his life better.

I loved this film, I know this sounds strange but there is something really light about this film. This is not like other sci-fi films it does not need over the top CGI or graphics because they are  not needed to tell the story. The other plant dubbed Earth II is an ever present thought,  questions are always raised… did Rhoda commit the same mistake? Is William’s family still alive?… Have they all made the same mistakes? The writing was superb and actress Brit Marling portrayed Rhoda beautifully, my guess is because she helped write the character she was so familiar with her,every step of the way we feel Rhoda’s pain. Though it is a sci-fi film it is oddly a story we can all connect with, we have all made mistakes and we would all wonder the same things if there were another you out there (even though we all know that another earth may not appear in the sky tomorrow) .  This is truly a breath of fresh air , it’s different and it is really hard to stop watching, oh and no spoilers but I loved the ending, the last few seconds of the film are really cool. Go see it!

 

 

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

