The things I like to read aren’t always conventional

Standard

Firstly Happy New Year and congratulations for making it to 2012 !

I was inspired to write about my favorite authors when I discovered last night that my HP Touchpad has a kindle! It is so awesome, I’m so happy. It made me think about all of the works I love and all the authors I really like. I love books and I love to read but I’m going to have to say that most of my favorite works are actually short stories or epic poems . They’re to the point, and I really like that.

Anyway I bought Edgar Allan Poe and also some of  J.D. Salinger’s work (he’s my favorite author). I know you’re probably thinking that I have interesting taste. The truth is I’m not the girl sitting around reading a Nicholas Sparks love story bawling my eyes and downing a pint of Ben &Jerry’s because I’m depressed or unnecessarily overjoyed at the ending of some unlikely to happen love story(no offense to you Nicholas Sparks lovers, I truly appreciate him as a writer ).

I have nothing against love stories in fact I love them, but I also love stories that make you think how screwed up they are after you finish reading them. For example “Perfect Day for Bananafish” by J.D. Salinger or “The Cask of Amontillado” by Edgar Allan Poe. Have you ever heard of “Goblin Market” by Christina Rossetti ? It’s a poem and once you read it don’t think me a strange person (if you don’t already). The sad part is these are not the worst, :laughs creepily out loud, literally:

I guess I really have  have a sick sense of humor…

 

Leave a Reply

